Model genesis and history

Drheam® was created following the practice of Jacques Civilise, working on the design of innovative vehicles for the Renault car company in the 1990’s.

1990 : Jacques Civilise

A project manager transforms innovation management

Jacques Civilise

Jacques Civilise has spent most of his career working for the Renault car company. In the late 1990’s, he becomes project manager for innovative new vehicles. These include the Vel Satis, the Espace IV and the Laguna II, the first with push-button keyless ignition and automatic tire-pressure monitoring systems. These experiences and his love of high performance sports (sailing, motorcycling, ski) inspire him to develop a new management model for collaborative projects, DRHEAM®.

The basic concepts behind the DRHEAM® model were laid down in the automobile industry of the late 90’s, within the Renault group. Jacques Civilise, then a project manager, observes great difficulties integrating innovation in the company’s projects. He finds more generally that research, development and marketing should be able to collaborate more closely on designing common solutions. He therefore decides to radically transform the approach towards management to make his teams work in a thoroughly cooperative manner, in service of value creation. Encouraged by an early success (generalization of the athermal windshield to the whole car range) , these new managerial methods are spread to all innovation projects of the company. Again, the method works and reaps a wealth of success (Laguna II, Mégane, Espace IV, Velsatis, …). Louis Schweitzer, then president of the company, asks to make it known that these successes rely as much on product innovation as managerial innovation. This endows Jacques Civilise’s expertise with great recognition among the experts in the field of innovation management (Christophe Midler – Management research center at the Ecole Polytechnique in Paris, Armand Hatchuel – Scientific Management center of the Ecole des Mines in Paris, Jean-Claude Bocquet – Industrial Engineering Laboratory of the Ecole Centrale in Paris, …)

2002 : ILM

A management model for complex projects

After many conferences on the subject of innovation management, Jacques Civilise is urged to create a model and spread its use: during a seminar with the executives of the Bouygues corporation, Martin Bouygues proposes to implement the method on the management of his own projects. Jacques Civilise thus decides to create a specialist consultancy to deal with innovation and complex project management, the Innovation Live Management (ILM). Hence, at the start of the new millennium, the DRHEAM® model emerges: Developing Human relations and enhanced application management. It was followed up by its operational implementations, DRHEAM TEAM®, DRHEAM MASTER PLAN®, and DRHEAM MONITORING SYSTEM® (the first version of the collaborative application which supports the model). ILM meets with much success, starting with Bougyues Immobilier: the implementation of DRHEAM® is directly accountable for a 15 to 20% reduction of the global cost of real estate projects in France. Thereafter, many more will profit from the model: Renault (hybrid vehicles, Laguna III steering system, injector of the future, …), DCNS (Vehicle-launching NG4 submarine “Le Terrible”), Rhodia (Profitable Innovation Growth Plan), LE DEFI (America’s Cup 2007), EDF, Michelin, Orange Business Services, etc…

2011 : DRHEAM Institute

An expertise for the spread of a new management model

While managing two complex projects for Orange Business Services, the executive team at France Télécom noticed a great interest and enthusiasm on behalf of its employees for the DRHEAM® model. The model’s implementation had recently saved several million Euros on these projects’ expected cost. The executives at France Télécom sought to root the values and managerial practice of the DRHEAM® model into the company culture. Spurred on by Orange Business Service, the DRHEAM® Institute now brings a ready solution to this need by concentrating on training and guiding structures to the successful realization of their projects. The objective is to initiate a change in paradigm through a novel approach to project management, a renewal of corporate collaborative practices and breeding a real commitment to value creation. The DRHEAM® success story is now led by Jacques Civilise’s son, Ronan, who intends to bring a recognized model to new heights, adapting it to the new needs of the constantly changing environment of project management.

Genèse et Histoire du Modèle

DRHEAM a été initié par la pratique de Jacques Civilise au sein de l’entreprise Renault dans le cadre de projets de conception de véhicules automobiles innovants à la fin des années 90

1990 : Jacques Civilise

Un Innovateur révolutionne l’innovation

Jacques Civilise

Jacques Civilise, a accompli l’essentiel de sa carrière chez Renault. A la fin des années 1990, il devient chef de projet Innovations nouveaux véhicules, tels que Laguna II, qui inaugure la carte «mains libres», et le système de surveillance automatique de pression des pneus, ou encore Vel Satis et Espace IV. Ces multiples expériences l’inspirent pour développer un nouveau modèle de management de projet coopératif, baptisé DRHEAM®.

Les premiers fondements de ce qui deviendra plus tard le modèle Drheam ont été posés dans l’industrie automobile de la fin des années 90 au sein du groupe Renault. Jacques Civilise, alors Innovation Program Manager, y observe de grandes difficultés à intégrer l’innovation dans les projets de l’entreprise, et plus largement à faire collaborer les univers de la recherche, du développement et du marketing à l’élaboration de solutions communes. Il décide donc de transformer radicalement l’approche du management et de la gestion de projet afin de faire travailler ses équipes sur un mode intégralement coopératif, au service de la création de valeur. Fort d’une première grande réussite (généralisation du par brise athermique sur toute la gamme), ces nouvelles pratiques managériales vont être capitalisées et généralisées à tous les programmes d’innovation du groupe. Ici encore le dispositif fonctionne à merveille, et mène l’entreprise à quelques-uns de ses plus beaux succès (programmes Innovations de Laguna III, Velsatis, Espace IV, et accompagnement Megane …). Louis Schweitzer, alors président du groupe, demande qu’on communique tant sur les innovations produits que sur les innovations managériales, conférant à l’expertise de Jacques Civilise une très forte reconnaissance industrielle et académique auprès des spécialistes du pilotage de l’innovation (Christophe Midler – Centre de Recherche en Gestion de l’Ecole Polytechnique, Armand Hatchuel – Centre de Gestion Scientifique de l’Ecole des Mines de Paris, Jean-Claude Bocquet – Laboratoire de Génie Industriel de l’Ecole Centrale Paris,…).

2002 : ILM

Un modèle pour le management de programmes complexes

C’est à l’issue de multiples conférences sur le management de l’innovation que l’idée de modéliser et diffuser la démarche vient à son fondateur : lors d’un séminaire avec l’ensemble des cadres dirigeants du Groupe Bouygues, il y rencontre Martin Bouygues, qui l’interroge sur la possibilité d’appliquer cette approche à ses propres projets. Jacques Civilise décide alors de créer le cabinet Innovation Live Management (ILM), une structure de conseil spécialisée dans le pilotage de l’innovation et le management de programmes complexes. C’est fin 2002 qu’apparait le modèle Drheam® — Développement des Relations Humaines Et Applications Management, et ses déclinaisons opérationnelles Drheam-Team®, Drheam Master Plan® et logicielles Drheam Monitoring System® (première version de l’application collaborative qui soutient le modèle). ILM connait dès lors de nombreux succès. A commencer par Bouygues Immobilier, où l’application directe de DRHEAM va permettre la réduction nette de 15 à 20% du coût global de programmes immobiliers partout en France, mais aussi Renault (véhicule hybride, système auto directionnel de la Laguna III, injecteur du futur,…), DCNS (Sous-marin Nucléaire Lanceur d’Engin NG4 le Terrible), Rhodia (Plan de croissance profitable innovation), LE DEFI (campagne America’s Cup 2007), EDF, Michelin, Orange Business Services, etc.

2011 : DRHEAM Institute

Une expertise pour la diffusion d’un nouveau modèle de management

Au cours du pilotage de deux programmes complexes au sein d’Orange Business Services, la Direction Générale du groupe France Telecom, constatant un intérêt croissant de ses équipes pour le modèle Drheam, couronné par de vraies réussites (plusieurs millions d’euros d’économie sur les programmes), va alors s’interroger sur la possibilité d’ancrer les valeurs et bonnes pratiques portées par le modèle dans la culture managériale de l’entreprise. Impulsé par Orange Business Service, la création de la société Drheam® Institute apporte aujourd’hui une réponse concrète à ce type de demande, en concentrant son expertise sur la formation à DRHEAM et l’accompagnement de structures partenaires dans la réussite de leurs projets. L’objectif est d’initier un changement de paradigme managérial généralisé, autour du renouvellement de pratiques collaboratives en entreprise, du pilotage par la création de valeur et par l’ancrage en profondeur d’une réelle culture de l’engagement. La success story DRHEAM est aujourd’hui prolongée par Ronan Civilise, qui entend porter haut les valeurs d’un modèle reconnu, en l’adaptant aux nouvelles demandes issues de l’évolution permanente de l’environnement du management et des projets.